CHRONOLOGY of WOMEN'S SUFFRAGE

1776 Abigail Adams writes to her husband, John Adams, asking him to "remember the ladies" in the new code of laws. Adams replies the men will fight the "despotism of the petticoat. Thus begins the long fight for Women's suffrage.

- 1869 Wyoming Territory grants suffrage to women
- 1870 Utah Territory grants suffrage to women
- 1880 New York State grants school suffrage to women
- 1890 Wyoming joins the Union as the first state with voting rights for women. By 1900 women also have full suffrage in Utah, Colorado and Idaho.
- New Zealand is the first nation to give women suffrage 1902 Women of Australia are enfranchised. 1906 Women of
- Finland are enfranchised.
- 1912 Suffrage referendums are passed in Arizona, Kansas and Oregon
- 1913 territory of Alaska grants suffrage
- 1914 Montana and Nevada grant voting rights to women,
- 1915 Women of Denmark are enfranchised.
- 1917 Women win the right to vote in North Dakota, Ohio, Indiana, Rhode Island, Nebraska, Michigan, New York, and Arkansas
- 1918 Women of Austria, Canada, Czechoslovakia, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Poland, Scotland, and Wales are enfranchised.
- 1919 Women of Azerbaijan Republic, Belgium, British East Africa, Holland, Iceland, Luxembourg, Rhodesia, and Sweden are enfranchised. Suffrage Amendment is passed by the US Senate on June 4th and the battle for ratification by at least 36 states begins.
- 1920 In February the LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS was formed by Carrie Chapman Catt at the close of the National American Women Suffrage Alliance last Convention. The League of Women Voters is to this day one of the country's preeminent nonpartisan voter education groups.
- 1920 The Nineteenth Amendment, called the Susan B. Anthony Amendment, is ratified by Tennessee on August 18. It becomes law on August 26.